Which Wine Club is Right for You?
Wine Club Reviews & Ratings

WSJWine Club Review (Wall Street Journal Wine Review)


Rating: ****

WSJWine from The Wall Street Journal helps you get started in a quarterly case wine club and makes a great gift.

Pros:

  • Select reds, whites, or mixed
  • Low initial price ($69.99)
  • Reorder wines anytime
  • Nice gifts with purchase
  • Discovery Club great for those new to wine clubs

Cons:

  • Only option is a quarterly case club
  • Additional $19.99 shipping charge

Read the full review
& visit wsjwine.com

Review of WSJwine

WSJWine from The Wall Street Journal is different from most wine clubs in that it only offers wine by the case. Every three months your delivery will include 12 bottles of wine: all white, all red, or mixed.

For a limited time, you can save $170 on 15 bottles of red wine rather than the regular 12 bottles plus free gift.

The starting price is $69.99, which ends up being $5.84 $4.67 for every bottle of wine in the initial shipment. Unlike some groups, delivery isn't included - be ready to spend an extra $19.99 with each delivery.

It is possible to stop anytime (yes, even after your first order!) and even skip a delivery or change your wine choice.

Like the majority of wine clubs, tasting notes for each included bottle come with your order. Your first delivery also comes with a binder to hold your tasting notes in order as well as an introductory gift of a wine corking set. The more clubs that I join, the more that I like this tasting notes binder because it's a nice way to keep track of which wines I liked as well as what I should pair them with.

The white wine case features a Riesling from Washington State, a Spanish lime & peach Aperitif, and other white wines from New Zealand, France, Italy and Napa Valley. The red wine case includes California Cabernet and Pinot Noir, an Argentinean Malbec, and Bordeaux from France. The mixed case includes 4 different whites and 4 different reds, some doubled up, for a total of 12 bottles.

Savings of at least 20% off normal wine prices with every case delivery.
I ordered the WSJWine Club for myself, but you could certainly order it as a gift. A couple of considerations are that the box is very heavy with 12 bottles in it, there is no opportunity to include a gift message, and you cannot schedule the delivery date. Deliveries are made through a special local delivery service and although you may not have access to tracking information online, you are called 24 in advance of the delivery.

One of the perks of the WSJWine Club is that when you like a wine in your wine club, you may buy more of it direct from WSJWine. The prices are reasonable, and you will already have the tasting notes to go along with the wine. Shipping is every 3 months, and future shipments are charged at $139.99 ($11.67/bottle).

Visit wsjwine.com & read the full review, including some of the specific bottles of wine and my free gift with purchase (which was a corkscrew set this time).

Reviewed by on October 9, 2013

Photos of WSJ Wine - WSJwine

WSJ Wine Club Box WSJ Wine Club Bottles WSJ Wine Club Gift With Purchase Enter WSJ Wine Club Kit Reviewed

Ship-To States

Ships To

WSJ Wine ship their WSJwine to: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Related Blog Posts

Which Wine Club Is Best?

By Eric Nagel on November 27, 2013   /   Wine Club Research   /   Leave a comment Which Wine Club Is Best

Having reviewed dozens of wine clubs, we’re often asked, “which wine club is best?” Well: it depends. First, you want to make sure the wine club ships to your state. Because of various state laws, not all clubs can ship to all states. We’ve listed the clubs that

Read more & visit wsjwine.com

WSJ Wine 12-Bottle vs. 15-Bottle Offers

By Eric Nagel on October 10, 2013   /   Wine Club Research   /   Leave a comment WSJ Wine - Save $170

WSJ Wine Club from The Wall Street Journal has two different offers12 bottles with free gift 15 bottlesSo what’s the difference? Let’s compare them:Feature 12-Bottle Offer 15-Bottle OfferBottles of Wine 12 15Types of Wine RedWhiteMixed RedWhiteMixedValue $189.99 $239.99Initial Cost $69.99 $69.99Savings $120.00 $170.00Initial Cost / Bottle $5.83 $4.67Free gift Lever-action corkscrew set NoneOngoing cost $149.99 $149.99Ongoing bottles 12 12Ongoing cost / bottle $12.50 $12.50As you can see, the difference in

Read more & visit wsjwine.com

WSJ Wine Club Review with Video

By Tricia Meyer on October 2, 2013   /   Wine Club Research   /   3 Comments WSJ Wine Club Review

WSJ Wine Club Discovery Club I’ve ordered monthly wine clubs before, but I was interested in trying a quarterly case club because they seem like such good deals. After checking out a few different wine clubs, I settled on the WSJwine from the Wall Street Journal Discovery Club.

Read more & visit wsjwine.com

Changing Wine Tastes Through Wine Clubs

By Tricia Meyer on May 20, 2013   /   Wine Club Research   /   Leave a comment Wine Tasting Menu

Last Saturday my husband and I went to Coopers Hawk Winery to catch up on our wine club subscription. We get a bottle a month through the club but because we have to pick them up, we usually end up behind 2 or 3 months (one good

Read more & visit wsjwine.com

Host a Wine Tasting Using a Case Wine Club

By Eric Nagel on March 1, 2013   /   Wine and Food   /   Leave a comment Wine Tasting Food

We’ve reviewed dozens of wine clubs, including a few case clubs (Cellar’s Wine Club Quarterly Case Club, Laithwaites, Virgin, WSJ or Zagat Wines, and Windsor’s “The Collector”). Many of these clubs are great for keeping your wine cellar stocked. But they can also be used to host

Read more & visit wsjwine.com

WSJ Wine 15 Bottles Special Offer

By Eric Nagel on December 12, 2012   /   Wine Specials and Promotions   /   Leave a comment wsj-15-bottles-150x150

WSJ Wine has extended a special offer which takes their usual case of 12-bottles for $69.99 and adds in an additional 3 bottles of wine – get 15 bottles for just $69.99!Special Offer: 15 bottles for $69.99 – Save $160  While the image shows only reds, you can

Read more & visit wsjwine.com

Finding Wine Clubs That Ship To Your State

By Tricia Meyer on November 26, 2012   /   Wine Club Research   /   Leave a comment Wine Clubs That Ship to My State

Are you looking for a wine club that will ship to your state? Or perhaps one that will ship to a state where you need to send a gift? Wine delivery laws are extremely confusing, but I am going to try to help you find the right

Read more & visit wsjwine.com

Dark Chocolate Red Wine Cupcakes

By Tricia Meyer on November 9, 2012   /   Wine and Food   /   1 Comment red-wine-cupcakes2

I’ve been looking for the perfect chocolate cupcake recipe to pair with red wine and after testing and combining a few different recipes, I finally came up with one that I love. Behold the Dark Chocolate Red Wine Cupcakes! (If you don’t print the recipe today, be

Read more & visit wsjwine.com

New Offer from WSJ Wine Club

By Tricia Meyer on September 17, 2012   /   Wine Specials and Promotions   /   Leave a comment WSJ Wine Club Decanter Offer

A few months ago I did my first WSJ Wine Club review and the free gift that I received with my purchase was a Deluxe Corkscrew set plus tasting notes and binder. Although that offer is still available, the Wall Street Journal Wine Club also has a

Read more & visit wsjwine.com

Leave A Comment (3)

3 Comments
  1. My experience with WSJ Wine Club has been absolutely terrible – to the point that I’m beginning to think it is a scam. I joined, received my intro case+ then received two additional cases, one each quarter. I then called and asked them to suspend sending cases. They assured me they would. Two weeks later I received a case. I called and they apologized, saying they couldn’t understand how this happened and said they would send me a FEDEX return label. Several days later I called and they said that they hadn’t sent it – it must have been an oversight.

    They call every week or so, so a couple of weeks later I again told them – no wine until Jan 2014. No problem sir. On the next call, I asked the rep to confirm that the wine advertised in the most recent email would not come to me. I was assured that my request was in the system. Two weeks later? A case of wine.

    I was irate. I called them, read them the riot act and told them to send me a label. Guess. That’s right, I called back to find that there was an oversight, they’d send one out on Monday. “Can’t you send the label?” “No, sir, another department does that. I again told them that I wanted no more wine, sent the case back on the 4th of November and…are you ready?! Yep, another case arrived on the 6th.

    Buyer beware! These guys make the old Columbia Record Club look like angels.

    • I wonder if you could just refuse the delivery the next time it comes since you have to sign for it? Then call your credit card company and tell them that you had tried to cancel?

      I’m sorry that you have had such a bad experience on trying to suspend your shipments. I’m assuming that the wine itself was good or you would not have continued getting it for the cases after the intro case? I liked the intro case but cancelled after that because I just had too much wine!

      Tricia

  2. i’ve never met someone so upset about receiving cases of wine!

If you have a comment or question, ask us here: